NV5

Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) Training Course


Course Title:

Radiation Safety Officer (RSO)

Course duration:

40 hours of instruction

Price:

$2095

Course Summary

Please contact us at AcademyRegistrar@nv5.com with any questions. 

Through lectures, hands-on laboratory exercises, and extensive reference materials, this course will give you the technical information and practical experience necessary to ensure that you are well prepared to serve as an RSO and will meet the requirements of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Agreement States, and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

All former RSO students are eligible for a one-time 50% discount when registering as a refresher student within 10 years of their initial class completion date.

Please contact our administrator at AcademyRegistrar@nv5.com to receive the $200 discount we are offering for a limited time for in-person training.

Tailor this Course with Add-Ons:

DOT HAZMAT Certification — $200.00

Complete an additional 4 hours on shipping radioactive materials, as required by DOT (49 CFR 172 Subpart H) and NRC (10 CFR 71.5 and 10 CFR 20.1906). This module concludes with an examination, successful completion of which will earn you an additional certificate for 3 years.

Available at these locations: Virtual and Hollywood

Upcoming Classes

Start End Location Registration
Mon, Dec 12 Fri, Dec 16 Hollywood, FL Register Now
Mon, Jan 9 Fri, Jan 13 Virtual, NA Register Now
Mon, Feb 13 Fri, Feb 17 Hollywood, FL Register Now
Mon, Mar 13 Fri, Mar 17 Virtual, NA Register Now
Mon, Apr 10 Fri, Apr 14 Hollywood, FL Register Now
Mon, May 8 Fri, May 12 Virtual, NA Register Now
Mon, Jun 12 Fri, Jun 16 Hollywood, FL Register Now
Mon, Jul 10 Fri, Jul 14 Virtual, NA Register Now
Mon, Aug 14 Fri, Aug 18 Hollywood, FL Register Now
Mon, Sep 18 Fri, Sep 22 Virtual, NA Register Now
Mon, Oct 16 Fri, Oct 20 Hollywood, FL Register Now
Mon, Nov 13 Fri, Nov 17 Virtual, NA Register Now
Mon, Dec 11 Fri, Dec 15 Hollywood, FL Register Now

Description

Please contact us at AcademyRegistrar@nv5.com with any questions. 


Updated course content and electives!

Note: If you work at a hospital or medical facility, consider attending our Medical Radiation Safety Officer course.


We have offered this training for over 20 years to qualify you as a Radiation Safety Officer.  We provide the technical information and practical experience to ensure that you are well prepared to serve as an RSO. Instructors specialize in training for research, biomedical, and educational programs, as well as for programs using sealed sources in irradiators, measurement devices, and gauges. 

Through lectures, hands-on laboratory exercises, and extensive reference materials, this course will give you the technical information and practical experience necessary to ensure that you are well prepared to serve as an RSO and will meet the requirements of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Agreement States, and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

During the week, students must complete 32 hours of instruction in the following required subjects: radiation fundamentals, health risks, regulations, licensing, enforcement, dosimetry, instruments, statistics, quality assurance, DOT shipment and receipt of radioactive materials, program management, record keeping, emergency response, and preparing for inspections. Students must also complete several hours of elective subjects to complete the 40 hours of training.

Did You Know?

This is our 30th year offering RSO training! Join the more than 3,000 RSOs who have graduated from our Academy with rave reviews!


Audience

Those seeking qualification as a Radiation Safety Officer.


Related Credits

Related Certifications: